Banana Cupcakes with Cookie Butter Frosting

So I don’t think I’ve made it any secret that I loooooove Trader Joe’s. My obsession, to some, could be deemed unhealthy. Every time I go, I feel like I find something new to add to our ever-growing list of standards/must-haves. One day, I happened upon something near the peanut/almond/cashew/whatever you can think of butters… Cookie butter. Cookie butter? Yes, my friends. A thousand times YES.
IMG_2907.JPG

I tried the original creamy style and a new love was born. The cocoa and cookie swirl, just… Stop it. Smear some of that goodness on graham crackers and I’d live off of it. It’s basic flavor profile is like a Bischoff cookie, notes of cinnamon and ginger with just the right amount of sweetness. So it got me thinking… Something this delicious would be A-MAH-ZING as frosting. Right? Right. I’ve made this now with both banana and mocha cupcakes, the banana being the majority winner. I’m far too lazy to rewrite the whole banana cupcake recipe 😜, so click here for my go-to.

Ingredients:
1 cup original cookie butter (I’ve used crunchy and creamy, use whichever texture you like better!)
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
4 cups confectioner’s sugar
2 tbsps milk

Directions:
In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the butter and cookie butter on medium speed until completely smooth.
IMG_2910.JPG

With mixer on low speed, add the confectioner’s sugar til well combined. It gets pretty thick, don’t worry! Now add the milk and increase speed. Mix until smooth and dreamy. Mmmm.
IMG_2911.JPG

Pipe onto cupcakes of your choosing and ENJOY! Make sure you make enough to share. 😉
IMG_2912.JPG
Recipe by yours truly!

Leave a Reply

