Perfect Roasted Chicken

Maybe it’s because I’m not at all sophisticated, but the idea of roasting a chicken was super intimidating to me. Like, I’d never done it in my 28 years of life. Then I helped Mark with our Thanksgiving turkey this past year and thought surely a chicken would be similar. You know what?

It’s EASIER. So easy, I’m embarrassed and sad it took me so long to try it! Not only is it easy, you can change up the rub to use whatever spices you like, and we get 2 meals out of it- chicken that night, and then we shred the leftovers for pasta, quesadillas, whatever. I know the cooking temperature seems too low, but the amount of time cooked makes up for it and as long as your thermometer reads 170-180 degrees Fahrenheit when inserted into the breast, I think it’s fine. We’ve had this chicken many times now and never had issues. The chicken is perfect every time- juicy meat, crispy skin, full of flavor. So go ahead and look fancy next time you have people over for dinner… Roast ’em a chicken. Just act impressed if I have you over and I serve this now that you know my secret. 😉

Ingredients:

  • 4 lb whole chicken (I’ve used 3.5-5 lb chickens with the same results)
  • 1 medium onion, quartered
  • 4 tsps sea salt
  • 3 tsps black pepper
  • 2 tsps paprika
  • 1 tsp Cajun seasoning
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Directions:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees Fahrenheit*.  Line a baking dish or small roasting pan with foil (you don’t have to do this, I just like to avoid doing dishes whenever possible). Remove giblets from chicken and discard. In a small bowl, combine your spices and mix well.

  

Rub spice mixture all over chicken, inside and out. If you think far enough in advance, do this and let marinate overnight; if you don’t, I usually rub the spices on right before I pop the chicken in the oven and it’s still yummy. 

    

Stuff the onion into the chicken, then put into the oven to roast for about 5 hours. After about an hour, begin periodically basting the chicken with its juices.

Once your 5 hours is up, remove from oven and allow to rest for about 10 minutes before carving. I use this term loosely… The chicken will literally fall off the bone.   

 

This is one of our favorite dinners and as I mentioned, makes an excellent entree for company. Serve it up with sides of your choosing and ENJOY!  

 

Recipe adapted slightly from Deep South Dish.

*If cooking at this low temperature makes you nervous, you can easily bump it up. Just make sure to adjust your cooking time accordingly!

Leave a Reply

